The Principles and Types of Karma Yoga

So you perform your daily tasks very well. Right? But how many times have you helped someone without any reward? Well, I assure you a very few times.

Once you Indulge yourself in some devoting activities, you will notice how peaceful your mind and soul will be.

You don't need to become a monk and leave everything to stay calm. However, there are plenty of other options that can make you happy, even among the hub of people.

And here comes the point when you get out of the yoga rug and start practicing karma yoga in your everyday life.

Keep reading this yoga blog to enlighten your spiritual connection by knowing a lot about karma yoga, its principles, and types.

What is karma yoga?

Karma yoga means "yoga of action." Actions are not only related to physical needs, but your feelings, thoughts, and talks also come into action.

But how do the actions result in yoga?

Karma yoga considers that the actions are indivisible, and since inevitable actions are the truth.

They wipe out the confusion from our minds and throw the lights towards our soul. For instance, you often have read the story of rope in the snake.

Throwing a low light on the ground can mistake a rope for a snake, and you can feel the real fear. However, in the high light conditions, the rope will be revealed, and all the fear will be gone.

Practicing the perfect action is real karma yoga or yoga for life. Karma yoga is slightly different from social service. In social service, one wishes to offer the services after the good work.

The social worker hopes for the inner transformation while a yogi aims to spring out his ego and become incapable of harming others through their actions or words.

The goodness surges forth into the yogis' different deeds like their thoughts, expressions, feelings, and physical activity.

Principles of karma yoga

  1. Have clear motives

When you pick up something, the reasons behind this matter a lot; avoid the selfishness or justifications while performing actions and thin your ego.

Reap the pure intentions beyond the thoughts of benefits. Do your work well, and don't wait for the reward.

Be vigilant in your work, as vigilance leads to the fall of the ego and takes you to the path of ongoing awareness.

2. Separating thoughts from responsiveness

Continuous actions with the motives do not require memory anymore. Usually, the disuse of interpretative memory leads to exhaustion. But the present is always reviving and new.

The memory is not linked with the present; it awakens your inner intelligence and makes you feel fresh.

Karma yoga is the yoga for life that continues to be free of motives. The mind gets lighter, and the past doesn't interfere with the present.

The vigilant mind naturally takes you to the meditations and removes all the mental distractions.

3. Self-awareness

Once you enter the mainstream of meditation, karma yoga begins to merge with other types of yoga and the increased attention moves you to self-awareness.

The karma yogi's actions take him to the self-inquiry, relaxations of mind that are beneficial for him and others.

The yogi gathers all his talent and energy and uses it positively. This is the best yoga for you as the energy flowing in the wrong direction is made to move in the right path.

4. Do the job well

Every job needs talent and a set of skills to be accomplished. Recognize those qualities and focus on them. Imbibe your experiences and capabilities in your life.

These will teach you something positive, and you will experience a significant addition to your knowledge. So be disciplined and perform your job well.

5. Give up on the results.

Karma yoga is the yoga for life that works without any gain. The results or the outcomes don't bother you, and you continue to perform your job with the same dedication and diligence.

Remember that every work is important and what matters the most is the sincerity with which you perform it.

Most importantly, don't let yourself get so deep in the task; instead, keep it at the point so that you can easily give up on it when required.

Types of karma yoga

Karma yoga is the practice beyond karma. What affects us the most is karma? There are different types of karma; let's have a look at them.

Types of karma with respect to time

Sanchitta karma

Sanchitta is known as the set of actions performed, particularly in the past. You cannot change them, but these come with contentment and fulfillment.

Presently, Sanchitta karma is a glimpse of the past and which will soon become the future.

Prarabdha karma

Prarabdha karma means the influence of the past in our present life. Our past reaps the results for the present and brings us the results, either good or bad. In this yoga for you, the past can never be changed, so you must experience prarabdha karma.

Agami karma

The influence of the present actions and reaction on the forthcoming future is known as agami karma.

Types of karma with respect to the intention

Nishkama karma

Nishkama refers to the selfless act. The best thing about selflessness is that it makes us free from the bond of karma, and our intentions imbibe us to the right path.

This yoga for life instills different attributes in ourselves, such as helping others, caring for them, forgiveness, and humanity. Nishkama karma purifies the soul.

Sakama karma

When you have the thoughts of "I" or "mine" in your mind, then it shows your selfish nature. This is called sakama karma. It creates bad emotions in feelings like hatred, jealousy, ego, etc.

Final thoughts

All the types and principles of karma yoga relate to each other. Your actions and deeds become your karma.

Karma refrains you from performing the actions that might lead someone to the sufferings. Instead, it urges you to bring happiness to others' lives.

Everything in our life occurs with a cause, and this cause is known as karma. You might have considered karma as destiny, but actually, karma is every action that we perform.

Let's take responsibility for your thoughts and actions and free your soul!

© 2020 Copyright Yoga_Genic_Life

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram